The 30 Day Song Challenge

So I recently completed the 30 Day Song Challenge on Facebook, but felt my choices required further explanation. So here’s what made my list.

For those who know me, some of my selections will be obvious, but hopefully with a few surprises in there to keep things fresh. For those of you who don’t, I hope this gives you an insight into which bands and which songs mean the most to me.

I’ll split it into three posts to make it a bit easier to digest.

Part 1 – Days 1 – 10

Day 01 – Your current favorite song – The National ‘Bloodbuzz Ohio’

I first heard this about May time last year and loved it from the start. It has since turned me onto the National, who have quickly become one of my favourite bands. And despite their wealthy back catalogue ‘Bloodbuzz…’ is still the song to beat in my books.

Day 02 – Your least favorite song – Dizzee Rascal ‘Bonkers’

Everything about this song makes me cringe. It’s an awful and ridiculous song made all the worse by the fact that everyone other than myself seems to love it. Nothing against you Dizzee, but if I ever hear this again it will be too soon.

Day 03 – A song that makes you happy – The Get Up Kids ‘I’m A Loner Dottie, A Rebel’

The Get Up Kids, despite their cult status amongst those interested in then American pop punk scene, are one of the most cruelly under-rated and unappreciated acts out there. I love the energy of this song, particularly the guitar led intro, and like all great songs, always seems to be over before you want it to be.

Day 04 – A song that makes you sad – TV on the Radio ‘Family Tree’

I’m not going to be pretend to be a huge TV on the Radio fan. It was breakthrough ‘Dear Science’ that introduced them to me, with ‘Family Tree’ being the one song above all the others that had me going back for more and more. The emotion conveyed can only be described as gloriously melancholic, and whilst the lyrics don’t have any particular meaning to me, this song never fails to stir the emotions.

Day 05 – A song that reminds you of someone – Band of Horses ‘Is There A Ghost’

Simply put, Band of Horses are a phenomenal band. It makes me happy to see after last year’s ‘Infinite Arms’ they’re finally starting to get some well deserved attention. Ironically ‘Is There A Ghost’ is not my favourite song by a longshot, but as it reminds me of my amazing girlfriend that’s more than worthy of it making this list.

Day 06 – A song that reminds you of somewhere – The Get Up Kids – ‘Holiday’

A song that reminds you of somewhere. Holiday. Ahhh I see what you did there. No, ‘Holiday’ doesn’t remind me of past holidays, it reminds me of my youth and many Friday nights spent in Sheffield Corporation with mates, who I’m pleased to say are still mates now. This song will always remind me of there and those nights.

Day 07 – A song that reminds you of a certain event – Bruce Springsteen ‘Born To Run’

‘Born to Run’ was always my favourite Springsteen song. Even before I started listening to Springsteen. And after Glastonbury 2009 (of which I’m convinced no one will ever come close to bettering) and many, many hours spent listening to Springsteen since, it still is. There’s something timeless about it, it always sounds as fresh as the first time you heard it. The very definition of a classic.

Day 08 – A song that you know all the words to – The Gaslight Anthem ‘The ’59 Sound’

Since first taking a punt on Gaslight based on a magazine recommendation back at Leeds Festival 2008 they have become my favourite band of recent years. Whilst ‘The ’59 Sound’ is their most well known offering, it was my first taste of the band that have gone on to become an important part of my life for the last few years. It was also the first song I learnt how to singalong to whilst strumming, hence why I know all the words.

Day 09 – A song that you can dance to –  Foals  ‘Spanish Sahara’

I can’t dance. I can maybe muster an awkward shuffle at best. Or if I’ve had enough to drink I can move around quite choatically. But definately not dance. Either way, ‘Spanish Sahara’ was my favourite single of 2010, and given its epic build up and euphoric climax I could probably brave something more than the standard head nod / toe tap for.

Day 10 – A song that makes you fall asleep –  Jack Johnson ‘Breakdown’

Anything for a quiet life has become somewhat of a motto of mine. I’m quite a relaxed guy and I don’t like fuss or unneccassary hassle. ‘Breakdown’, and Jack Johnson as artist, is perfect for sitting back and just forgetting about everything for a while. I also have very fond memories of being laid back in the sun at the Pyramid stage at Glastonbury 2010 listening to this. Bliss.

This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

